Getting into a car accident can have a major impact on your life. You car may be damaged. You may suffer from traumatic injuries. You may even have to miss work. If you have been injured in a car accident caused by another driver, then you have the right to seek compensation from the at-fault driver’s auto insurance.

But what happens if you are injured in a hit and run accident and cannot locate the responsible driver? Although you may not be able to seek compensation from the hit and run driver’s insurance, you can still find financial recovery for your injuries through your own uninsured motorist coverage.

Is It Illegal To Hit And Run?

In Wisconsin, it is illegal to flee the scene of a car crash. In fact, drivers involved in a car accident are legally required to stop their vehicles. Failing to stop after an accident could lead to criminal penalties ranging from misdemeanor to felony charges. In hit and run accidents involving injuries, criminal charges could result in mandatory jail time. Even with these harsh criminal penalties, hit and run accidents still occur every day throughout the state.

What Should I Do If I Am Injured In A Hit And Run Accident?

If you are injured in a hit and run accident, the first thing you should do is call law enforcement. Law enforcement officers who respond to the scene of the crash will help you receive any emergency medical attention you need following the accident. In addition, they will investigate what happened, write an accident report and attempt to find the driver responsible for the accident.

What Happens If The Hit And Run Driver Is Never Found?

If police are able to identify the driver, then you may be able to recover compensation from the driver’s insurance policy. However, if the hit and run driver cannot be found, then it will be impossible to seek recovery from their insurance policy.

In the event that police cannot find the other driver, there are other sources of compensation for your injuries. In Wisconsin, all drivers are required to carry uninsured motorist coverage that would help cover medical expenses, wage loss, pain and suffering and other associated costs in the event that you are in a hit and run accident.

Do I Need To Hire A Hit and Run Attorney?

It is advisable to hire a Milwaukee personal injury attorney to represent your interests when filing a hit and run claim against your own insurance company. Although you have paid for your uninsured motorist coverage, your insurance company will do everything they can to limit the amount owed to you in the event of a hit and run accident. An experienced Milwaukee personal injury attorney will investigate the facts of your case, request an accident report, collect medical reports and maximize your settlement.

If you have been injured in a hit and run accident, contact Natasha MIsra Law today to schedule a free consultation.

When Are you Required To Report A Car Accident?

Wisconsin drivers are required to report motor vehicle accidents that involve:

  • Bodily injury or death;
  • Property damage of at least $1,000 or more; or
  • Damage to a state or government owner property exceeding $200.

Those involved in the accident are required to report the accident to the police department, the sheriff’s department, the traffic department or the Wisconsin State Patrol. If a law enforcement officer responds to the accident, they have 10 days to file a report with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, or WisDOT.

In some cases, however, law enforcement may not respond to a car accident. In those situations, the individuals involved in the accident are required to report the crash to WisDOT. Drivers may get a letter from WisDOT requesting them to complete a report. If you receive this request from WisDOT, then you are required to complete the report. If you do not file a report or complete a report sent to you by WisDOT, then you may be fined for your failure to comply.

How To Report Your Car Accident

If law enforcement does not respond to your accident, then you will need to submit an accident report to WisDOT. To do this, you will need to complete an online form titled “Wisconsin Driver Report of Crash DT4002.” You can find this form online HERE.

Before you begin filling out the online form, however, you should gather the information that you will need to complete the report. WisDOT will request the following information:

  • Your Driver License Number
  • Your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
  • Your Social Security Number
  • Insurance information for the vehicles involved in the accident

WisDOT will also request information about the accident. Specifically, the department will ask you to describe the accident and who was involved. For example, you will need to indicate whether the accident involved a motor vehicle, an animal, a bicyclist, a pedestrian, a parked vehicle or unoccupied vehicle, a fixed object or a non-fixed object.

In addition, you will be asked to discuss any injuries that occurred as a result of the car accident. The report will ask you to indicate whether you have suspected serious injuries (including deep lacerations, broken bones, paralysis, unconsciousness or significant loss of blood), suspected minor injuries (like minor cuts), or possible injuries (such as whiplash, limping or nausea).

Completing the online accident report form should take less than an hour to complete. Not only will reporting the accident help you avoid any potential fines, but you will also be able to use the accident report when seeking damages for your injuries.

Why Is Filing A Car Accident Report Important For My Case?

After an accident, your insurance company will likely request a copy of the accident report. In fact, before an insurance claim can be paid, the driver responsible for causing the accident must be identified. The driver at fault for the accident will then be responsible for compensating the other driver for his or her injuries and property damage.

Often, the accident report will be used to determine who was at fault for a car accident. In the event that there is a dispute regarding who is responsible for causing the accident, the official accident report will serve as the basis for an investigation into how the accident occurred.

A Wisconsin Car Accident Lawyer Can Help

If you have been injured in a car accident in Wisconsin, it is important that either a law enforcement official or you file an accident report with the WisDOT. The report will help identify the at fault party who caused the accident and ultimately help you recover compensation for your injuries.

When injured in a crash, you should also consult an experienced Milwaukee personal injury attorney - Natasha Misra Law. Our law office can help you with the accident reporting process and assist you in obtaining a copy of the accident report. Call our office at (414) 635-2858 for a free consultation and speak with a Milwaukee car accident lawyer today.

Natasha Misra

My law practice is dedicated to helping people who have suffered injuries in accidents which were not their fault. Born and raised in Milwaukee, I come from a family of medical professionals. My background and experience help me understand and represent individuals injured in accidents.